Track apps

Erase hidden iOS and Android maps that track your every move

Did you know that your iPhone has a hidden mapping feature that tracks where you go and keeps it inside your handset? But wait, won’t Will Apple be able to store all those clandestine meetings you’ve had and spread the word somehow? The answer is no because all this information is encrypted and cannot be read by Apple. The feature, called Significant Locations, has been around for years and is part of Location Services.

The hidden map on iOS tracks your daily movements, but the data is encrypted

So what are significant locations? Well, according to Apple, it will “allow your iPhone to learn places important to you to provide useful location information in maps, calendar, photos and more.” As pointed out The American Sunif your phone knows where you go each morning, it may be able to provide timely information about your whereabouts each morning.
As we said, this information is encrypted and neither Apple nor anyone else can know where your travels have taken you and the information cannot be read in iCloud. And even if you hand your iPhone to a friend to make a call, they won’t be able to access that data without going through Face ID or Touch ID. But if you can’t sleep at night, you’re worried your partner will discover a bomb while navigating through the significant locations, you should know that the significant locations is a feature that you should choose to use. On the other hand, it is activated when you enable location services.

Since you need to enable location services for Apple Maps, Google Maps, weather apps, Ride Share apps, social media apps, etc., you’ve probably already signed up without knowing it. So you can keep location settings and be sure that your important locations are indeed encrypted.

To see the map, go to Settings > Private life > Rental services. Scroll down the page and tap System Services. Next, navigate to the Important Locations tab where you will need to sign in using Face ID, Touch ID, or your passcode. There you’ll see a list of cities that you can tap to get a time-stamped list of specific places you’ve visited in each city (these places also appear on the map above the list).

You can clear Important Places data on your phone by tapping the Clear History button at the bottom of the Important Places page. If you don’t mind missing some features, including mapping apps, another option is to turn off location services. Frankly, your best bet is to keep the latter enabled and use the Clear History button instead.

Recently, there was controversy over this feature after a TikTok user produced a video claiming that Apple was using significant locations to spy on users. But as we have already mentioned, this information is encrypted and is also protected by Face ID and Touch ID.

Android follows you daily with its Timeline function

Android has a feature that lets you check your trips on a specific date called Timeline. However, you can delete any particular location you have been to or even edit it. And all functionality can be disabled. Go to System > Location > Rental services > Google Location History.

When Location History is turned off or deleted, Google won’t be able to recommend places to go based on your history, and Google won’t be able to tell you the best time to leave for work or home based on real-time travel information. . If you turn off or delete Location History, Google Photos will no longer be able to create albums based on the places you’ve visited.

Personally, and this is yours truly, I find that the benefits of keeping these features enabled surely outweigh disabling them. What is your opinion on the matter? How do you configure your phone? Let us know by dropping your comment in the box below.